Twigs, Branches, Grapevine....

Decorating By EvMarie Updated 18 Mar 2012 , 4:26pm by EvMarie

EvMarie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
EvMarie Posted 14 Mar 2012 , 4:20pm
post #1 of 5

I'm working out a cake design. (I'm not very good at design & not so experienced in stacked cakes) It is a 3 tier white, stacked right on top of each other cake. It's a Fall theme. The "guide" picture was given to me with fall leaves around the bottom of each tier. It appears there are these little twigs also.

The original design seems a little thin. So, I wanted to incorporate a grapevine wreath under the base of the cake. From there, I'm a bit confused as to where to go. I don't want to overwhelm the cake with "stuff" & then again...it shouldn't be naked.

(1) Would you include fall foliage/leaves in the grapevine wreath as well as around the bottom of the tiers?
(2) Would you/Could you use real grapvine for base AND tier bottom borders, as well as craft store fall foliage/leaves.

My main concern is the cake looks like a 6 year old did it. I'm definitely a beginner when it comes to making twigs & branches...and leaves for that matter...but will take the time to do it with molds & what not if you all feel it will improve the look of the cake.

Please let me know your "gut" design instincts on this. I appreciate your time....THANKS!

(by the way, if you haven't seen Evoir's new cherry blossom cake...check it out, it's gorgeous)

4 replies
mistresslucille Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mistresslucille Posted 15 Mar 2012 , 2:38am
post #2 of 5

I'm having a hard time visualising the cake (blame being tired and a bit ill!) Would you be able to post the 'guide' picture you mentioned?