Please Help - Gumpaste And Kitchenaid Pasta Roller - Mess!!!

Decorating By patstang Updated 9 Feb 2014 , 1:52am by DeniseNH

patstang Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
patstang Posted 11 Mar 2012 , 4:30am
post #1 of 12

OK ... I need some serious advice / help. I am very new to cake decorating using fondant and/or gumpaste.

Last week, I took the first class of the second Wilton class, and in that first class they have you mix a little colored fondant with ready made GP in order to work the class. I had some left over, so the next day I decided to go buy a pasta roller attachment for my KA. The gumpaste I mixed up that night rolled so nice and beautifully through the pasta roller.

I didn't clean the roller because, at first glance, it didn't look dirty.

Yesterday and today, I decided that I wanted to make some GP flowers for practice. I sat down and used the same method to mix my colors. About 25% or so of colored Wilton fondant to Wilton ready made GP. I mixed and mixed until the color was good. I wrapped it in plastic after coating lightly with shortening.

Today, I mixed up some pink. It sat for about an hour or so until I was ready to use it. I had a small orange sized ball, but I only was working with about 1/3 to 1/2 of it. I kneaded in my hands for a minute or two, then attempted to put it through the roller. It stuck. It globbed. It made a horrid mess.

I ran a damp paper towel then a dry one through and thought I got it pretty clean. I tried to run the same fondant through again, and once again it stuck, it globbed, it left a horrid mess. Once again I tried cleaning it with a damp papertowel ran through the rollers, then a dry one. Unfortunately, the dry one got so caught up in the blades that it actually froze my rollers. Off to the kitchen store again to buy another one (roller attachment).