I Could Use Some Advice & Tips On Making A Wedding Cake.

Decorating By MrsSmithN2012 Updated 9 Mar 2012 , 11:04pm by icer101

MrsSmithN2012 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsSmithN2012 Posted 9 Mar 2012 , 7:28pm
post #1 of 11

Hello everybody! I'm new to Cake Central (my goodness, I wish I would have known this community existed a few years ago when I started baking!!). I am getting married on September 29th of this year (yay!) and as much as I would love to hire a pro to make our cake....I am extremely biased to my own cakes. Also, we have a VERY small budget for our entire wedding, and I know I will save a lot of money by doing out cake myself. So, with that said, I need some much appreciated advice & tips on building a tiered cake. Here is what I have in mind:

Probably 3 tiers (maybe 4, so that we can freeze the top tiere for our 1 year anniversary), with each tier consisting of 4 cakes (12", 9" and 8") - would these sizes be correct? I am very familiar with crumb coating, and smoothing out buttercream (I am not a fondant fan), so that part I should be great with....but I've never actually built a tiered cake. I have read different methods of building them, but I would like to see what you guys and gals think is the easiest method(s).

As far as decorating the cake, I am going to use white buttercream frosting, border the bottom of each tier with a wide, satin ribbon, pipe icing (not sure on the design yet) around the bottom of the ribbon, then probably use some edible glitter to give it a little sparkle. The cake topper will just be two silver hearts that are entertwined with some rhinestones.