Introducing Myself To Cake Central

Lounge By vlmtz Updated 8 Mar 2012 , 8:20pm by vlmtz

vlmtz Posted 7 Mar 2012 , 9:48pm
post #1 of 7

Hi everyone! I have been lurking here for a while and thought it was finally time to join (yesterday) and introduce myself to everyone. I'm Tori. I live in Arkansas, although I am originally from Ohio. I am a total newbie at this but I am having so much fun figuring things out as I go. I have taught myself from the internet and magazines and have been looking for classes that I can take but, unfortunately, in my area the only things available are the Wilton classes that are taught at Michael's (which is actually an hour away). Judging from a few comments I have read, I am not sure that those would be worth the drive. Anyway, I guess I will just keep teaching myself with tips from all you awesome cakers on cake central! I look forward to chatting with you all!

P.S. I posted a picture of my first cake on the "cake firsts" gallery. It's kinda lumpy and I think I rolled my fondant too thick, but it didn't turn out too bad for my first cake! icon_biggrin.gif

6 replies
jgifford Posted 7 Mar 2012 , 10:13pm
post #2 of 7

Hi, Tori. Your cake's not bad for a first one. You're braver than I was with my first cake. No way would I have tried fondant and cutouts and bling. icon_surprised.gif

You've come to the right place to learn. There are some supersmart cookies here (did you see what I did there?) and they're always willing to share tips and advice, and there's no better place to find inspiration.

Welcome Aboard!

Jan

cheatize Posted 8 Mar 2012 , 12:11am
post #3 of 7

Hiya! Welcome to CakeCentral!

vlmtz Posted 8 Mar 2012 , 2:47pm
post #4 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgifford

Hi, Tori. Your cake's not bad for a first one. You're braver than I was with my first cake. No way would I have tried fondant and cutouts and bling. icon_surprised.gif