Delivery Question!! Your Help/advice Is Much Appreciated :)

Decorating By CakesbyCara Updated 5 Mar 2012 , 7:52pm by auntginn

CakesbyCara Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakesbyCara Posted 5 Mar 2012 , 5:06pm
post #1 of 7

Hi Cake Girls!! I am very new to cake decorating and very inspired by all of you CC ladies. First off, thank you so much for considering my cake problem!

Ok, here's the issue- I am making a baby shower cake for my sister in law and am very excited about doing it! It is not a large cake- just a 6in stacked on an 8in covered in fondant and with cute fondant accents. However, here's the issue-- I live on the coast of NC and she lives in D.C. (6hrs away). My husband and I are driving the cake/decorations down, but I have NEVER ever drove a cake anywhere let alone 6 hrs. I have confidence it can be done, but just wondering if anyone has any advice for me.

I for sure want to bake the cake at my house, and I would love to stack and decorate it at my house too, but should I? I am more comfortable in my kitchen (with my kitchen aids and appliances haha) and I don't think I am going to have very much time to do all this when I get there! Ok, thanks so much icon_smile.gif

6 replies
matthewkyrankelly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
matthewkyrankelly Posted 5 Mar 2012 , 5:31pm
post #2 of 7

I would decorate the layers separately and do a final stack when I got there. Bring a repair kit with you. Have a few extra decorations in case something falls off or you need to cover a damaged area. Also, a small amount of buttercream or colored fondant in case you need to pipe a border or add a rope edge to cover a problem.

Think through the travel. Where in the car will the cakes go? Do you have some non-skid mats for the cakes? You just need a safe, place for the cakes where they won't slide in their boxes and the boxes won't slide around. Six hours is a long time to hope for no quick stops.

Stacking at the venue should only take a few minutes.