The Friend/customer Who Made Me Quit (A Long Story)

Decorating By Texas_Rose Updated 1 Feb 2013 , 8:56am by mcaulir

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 29 Feb 2012 , 7:14pm
post #1 of 107

I've been a hobby baker for years. Occasionally I make a cake for a friend. Recently the cottage food bill passed in TX, and I started considering starting a home bakery business. This past weekend totally changed my mind. There's no way I can deal with stress like this on a regular basis.

Two weeks ago, a neighbor who I don't know very well stopped by the house and asked if I would make a sweet sixteen cake for her daughter. I told her I hadn't really gotten my business started yet, and she asked if I could just make the cake as a favor, if she bought the ingredients, because they had planned a big party and then run out of money for the cake and the food. I was thinking, "Okay, a free chance to practice," and I told her I would. I told her the ingredients for what she was wanting might run about $100, and that she'd have to drive me and the cake over to the venue so I could set it up, because I didn't have transportation on that day..

Two days later, she called and asked if she could bring her husband by because he wanted to meet the person he would be handing his money over to, because he didn't feel comfortable otherwise. I said sure, and they came over. He had a flash drive full of pictures from Pink Cake Box and a head full of big, fancy ideas. We settled on a design and then they also wanted another, smaller cake for their other child whose birthday was also that day, and 50 decorated and bagged cookies as favors. And then the husband said, "Oh, and the extra cake and the cookies, we can get all that for the original price of $100, right?" I explained that it wasn't a price, that was the cost of the ingredients and that with the bigger cake and extra stuff added, there would be more ingredients.