How Do I Do This Vertical Ruffle Technique??

Decorating By cwelling Updated 11 Apr 2013 , 1:22pm by Stitches

cwelling Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cwelling Posted 28 Feb 2012 , 4:11am
post #1 of 11

Hello All,

I have spent quite a bit of time trying to duplicate these vertical ruffles and I'm just not getting the same look...any advice?

What piping tip would you suggest? (I'm assuming it is buttercream...is that correct?) How do I get the pretty ruffled edge on the right but still have a neat and straight edge on the left? What consistency would be best? Any recipe suggestions for getting a super creamy icing that is able to stick to the cake and is still able to hold it's shape well? I'm still new at all of this so obviously I'm trying to cover all my bases here as I'm trying to figure out what I'm just not quite getting right about this technique.

Thanks for your help!

I couldn't get it to attach, so here is the address to a website with the photo... http://500daysofweddings.tumblr.com/post/6894333713

10 replies
debidehm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debidehm Posted 28 Feb 2012 , 5:22am
post #2 of 11

Could be buttercream, could be fondant. If buttercream, I would guess a rose tip...one side piped straight on, the other side "ruffled" with the fat end of the tip on the inside, the thin edge making the ruffle. Not sure what size rose tip you would use. I guess it might depend on what size you want the ruffle. If out of fondant, just cut strips and ruffle one side (make sure you cut wide enough) and leave the other side flat. You can then do whatever decorative border down the center of each "ribbon". That's my take on it! Hope it helps!

theicedqueen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
theicedqueen Posted 28 Feb 2012 , 9:19am
post #3 of 11