Needs Helps With Icing!

Decorating By laceylace_2004 Updated 28 Feb 2012 , 11:32am by AnnieCahill

laceylace_2004 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
laceylace_2004 Posted 27 Feb 2012 , 7:42pm
post #1 of 12

I am fairly new to this industry, and I am noticing that once I started selling my cake creations, that I am experiencing icing issues like I never did when I iced a cake at home. My main problem is the icing in the middle squishes out when I apply the top layer and apply the finishing layer of buttercream. Fondant makes it worse. My icing and cakes are room temperature. I have even cut back on the amount of icing I put in the middle, but nothing works. If I cut back on the icing, it will be all cake, no icing. I have even scraped off the excess, but it never ends! It is starting to cut into my profit because I am constantly having to remake cakes, fondant, and icing. Please help!

11 replies
MsGF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MsGF Posted 27 Feb 2012 , 7:57pm
post #2 of 12

You should cool the cakes after they are filled. Put them in the fridge for a while before you ice the rest and apply fondant to cold cakes.

There is another thread about this same issue. I saw it just a few minutes ago.

http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=633571&highlight=

Read this post, it is ling but might be helpful.

Good Luck

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 27 Feb 2012 , 8:39pm
post #3 of 12

As cake settles, the icing can bulge from between the layers. If you allow your cake to settle before icing it, you won't need to repair the bulge.

Cake can't settle while cold in the refrigerator... it needs to settle at room temperature.

AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnieCahill Posted 27 Feb 2012 , 8:55pm
post #4 of 12

Make sure you use a good stiff dam to hold the filling in. Then chill it and you shouldn't have any problems.

CWR41 Posted 27 Feb 2012 , 9:00pm
post #5 of 12
Quote: