What Caused The Problem On This Cake???

Decorating By Debslynn Updated 27 Feb 2012 , 1:39am by sing

Debslynn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Debslynn Posted 26 Feb 2012 , 4:46pm
post #1 of 9

Hi All,
I made this cake over the weekend and you can see a bit of bulging with the fondant on the lower left of it. I'm new to this, just started with this obsession in November, but this seems to be a recurring problem for me. http://cakecentral.com/gallery/2276366/youth-group-30-hr-famine-cake

I make my layers thin (sliced each of the two 8 inch layers in half horizontally), and used a butter/crm chesse crumbcoat and filling that was fairly thick. Anyone else get the bulging? And what did you do to fix it? Thanks for ANY suggestions!!! Funny thing is the kids didn't notice. They were thrilled and said I should be on Cake Boss. icon_biggrin.gif HA!
Debslynn

8 replies
MaurorLess67 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MaurorLess67 Posted 26 Feb 2012 , 5:00pm
post #2 of 9

Your cake looks great!!! The bulge is barely noticeable - but I know that frustration- did you dam your cake? Add powdered sugar to your buttercream and pipe a thick bead around the edge of your cake add your filling so that it doesn't go over the dam- that should do the trick. It always takes much longer in the beginning to decorate cakes- you will get faster icon_biggrin.gif

Debslynn Posted 26 Feb 2012 , 5:34pm
post #3 of 9

Thanks for the idea Maurorless67... I had thought about that possibility but since the buttercream I filled with was a bit on the thicker side in density already (as opposed to being put on thickly), I'm not sure that was the issue. Do you always do a super dense piping even if you are going to fill the layers with something fairly dense?
Any other possibilities???

bakingkat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakingkat Posted 26 Feb 2012 , 6:00pm
post #4 of 9