Help, How Do I Respond To This E-Mail?

Business By karukaru Updated 26 Feb 2012 , 9:34pm by SweetTzippy

karukaru Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karukaru Posted 24 Feb 2012 , 1:40am
post #1 of 38

Hello, Thanks in advance for your help.
I am a home baker (I have only done cakes for friends, family and acquaintances so far) and I live in a cottage food law state.My best friend referred me to this lady from an online mommy group we both belong to. This lady asked me for a two tiered fondant cake in the shape of gift boxes, with a tag and bows or with a figure of a pregnant lady and her and her husband. She said she wanted the cake to be black russian cake (which has lots of Kahlua and vodka.) I sent her an e-mail saying thst I can custom make anything she wants and that my fondant cakes start at $3.50 per serving but my "premium" flavors start $3.75. She sent me the following e-mail about 10 min after (and she also sent a similar e-mail to my best friend:

"Thank you Karina. I will send this over to my sister for review (as she is hosting). From what Peri said, I expected you to be a lot more affordable being that you make cakes from home as a side business. Are you licensed to have a functional kitchen for selling cakes at home? Some of your "competitors" with stores/bakeries charge less. Not to take away from your work or anything."