Cookware Please Help.

Lounge By ReneeFLL Updated 23 Mar 2012 , 7:44am by ReneeFLL

ReneeFLL Posted 17 Feb 2012 , 11:36pm
post #1 of 15

We just had our kitchen gutted and ended up buying an induction cooktop. My Circulon will no longer work with the new cooktop. I did buy a new set of stainless steel pots and pans. The problem is that the frying pan is not a non-stick. I am having problems finding a non-stick that will work. I am thinking of going with a cast iron skillet which I have never used before. I have heard of a non-stick cast iron skillet. Has anyone used one before?

14 replies
scp1127 Posted 18 Feb 2012 , 7:18am
post #2 of 15

For my sugar work and in savory cooking I have a collection of porcelain covered cast iron. I love the pieces. You can get lower priced pieces from Lodge which I haven't used. Le Creuset is the best. You want to look at the weight, or the thickness of both the cast iron and the porcelain. I find the heavier pieces to work best.

imagenthatnj Posted 19 Feb 2012 , 3:39am
post #3 of 15

You might want a LeCreuset, but at some point you will need a true non-stick like what you're used to. We don't have an induction cooktop, so I'm not sure if they'll work with one, but these non-stick pans are not made with Teflon and are excellent.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002A02IVM/?tag=cakecentral-20

scp1127 Posted 19 Feb 2012 , 3:50am
post #4 of 15

I used to have non-stick years ago, but I have learned to use the porcelain. My others are All-Clad. I don't know if these will work with induction, but learning to use these pans by using de-glazing methods has really upped my cooking skills... and upped the taste.

I have been wanting to look into an induction cooktop for my sugar work. What do you think? Is the control better than electric? I personally cook on a gas cooktop, but didn't want it for sugar.

scp1127 Posted 19 Feb 2012 , 3:54am
post #5 of 15