Marble Cake

Baking By lannwetzel Updated 22 Feb 2012 , 10:11pm by sing

lannwetzel Posted 17 Feb 2012 , 7:19pm
post #1 of 5

I am still new to cake baking. I have tried a few yellow cake recipes that haven't turned out very well. I will be making a graduation cake in a few months. The customer wants marble cake. Now, I know I can just use a good yellow cake recipe and take a bit out to flavor with cocoa....but I haven't found one that tastes good yet. Can anyone share their yellow cake recipe that would work well for a marble cake?? Thanks so much!

4 replies
Debbye27 Posted 17 Feb 2012 , 7:37pm
post #2 of 5

By yellow cake, do you mean vanilla cake? I'm not sure if there is a difference, but it took me a VERY long time to find a good vanilla cake recipe- I threw out so many cakes -the batter would taste good, cake didn't! I tried so many!

The last one I finally tried was on the back of my cake flour box!! I couldn't believe that the recipe on the box is the perfect one! And it's not complicated (unless you consider sifting flour twice complicated) no sour cream, no potato starch, no buttermilk - - all simple ingredients - sometimes I use only vanilla, sometimes I use almond too.

Here's the recipe I love and use...

Cook Time: 25 to 30 minutes

The Ingredients:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 cup butter
2 cups sugar
3 cups sifted Swans Down Cake Flour
4 eggs
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon almond extract

Baking Instructions:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------