To Those Of You With Storefronts

Business By Keflyn1 Updated 20 Feb 2012 , 12:22am by cerps

Keflyn1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Keflyn1 Posted 17 Feb 2012 , 3:35am
post #1 of 7

Would any of you be willing to take on an unpaid intern and what would your reaction be to someone asking? I want to go into the cake business but before I go to culinary school I want to have experience in the real world of baking. How should I or even should I approach one of these places? I am in college, I have several years of graphic design experience, I can sculpt, and I learn very quickly. Should I ask these storefronts and if so, how should I go about it?

6 replies
KoryAK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KoryAK Posted 17 Feb 2012 , 4:25am
post #2 of 7

I take them all the time, it's a win-win situation and in one case turned into a very valuable employee for me.

Keflyn1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Keflyn1 Posted 17 Feb 2012 , 4:26am
post #3 of 7

thank you very much, if you don't mind my asking, how did they approach you? How would you like to be approached? did they call you or did they just walk in? What is the protocol?

KoryAK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KoryAK Posted 17 Feb 2012 , 8:44am
post #4 of 7

It's a mix of call, email, and walk in.... but now that I'm thinking about it I pretty much only take the ones that walk in! lol Maybe that's just because I'm very busy and an email or phone message is too easy to dismiss. Often, when someone comes in, I just set them up on a schedule right then and there. I usually do 2 four hour shifts per week, working around their schedule and trying to put them here when the action is. A lot of times they are doing less-than-glamorous things like mixing and scooping cookies, but they are still in the environment and watching and learning how things really go down.