Help!! Need Help With Basic Dowling/stacking For Sons Cake

Decorating By slyroses99 Updated 14 Feb 2012 , 5:17am by CWR41

slyroses99 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
slyroses99 Posted 13 Feb 2012 , 8:04pm
post #1 of 6

Hi!
I am not a professional baker, but enjoy baking and decorating my kids cakes..I have made lots with fondant but never a stacked cake that required any dowels or boards etc. The cake is R2D2 from star wars. So it's about 6 9" in round cakes stacked on top for his body. There will be buttercream in between the layers and coated with fondant but I am totally lost on the kind of support this would need. I've seen the plastic tiers and dowels and then wooden dowels..but am not sure how much support I would need for a cake like this..I am making it home for a party here so I won't have to transport it...Will it cave if I stack these cakes without these boards/tiers in between? I'm going to try to attack a pic/link so you have an idea what kind of cake I'm trying...
I truly appreciate any help/feedback because that last thing I want is to spend two days making this for my son for it to collapse!!![
HERES SOME EXamples: IT'S BASICALLY A 3D R2D2 SO ANY OF THESE IMAGES GIVES YOU AN IDEA..
http://www.coolest-birthday-cakes.com/coolest-r2d2-cake-33.html
http://www.coolest-birthday-cakes.com/star-wars-cakes.html#c1

5 replies
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 13 Feb 2012 , 8:40pm
post #2 of 6

Use a support system for every 4" of cake height.

jamawoops Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jamawoops Posted 13 Feb 2012 , 8:51pm
post #3 of 6