Fondant Questions

Decorating By shugaram Updated 10 Feb 2012 , 8:44pm by Debbye27

shugaram Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shugaram Posted 10 Feb 2012 , 4:04pm
post #1 of 6

Hi there! I'm new to cake decorating and wanted to try my hand at fondant. I'm going to be making the fondant myself. I was wondering what types of cake were the best for covering in fondant. I assume very moist cakes don't work as well as a firmer cake. Is this true? Any recipes? Also I know you have to use something between the cake and the fondant to make it stick. I've seen most people using a buttercream frosting. How much do you use? Is it a very sparse amount just to get it to stick or do you you frost it the same as you would a cake that you weren't going to cover with fondant? Also say you are sticking fondant stars or polka dots to your already fondant covered cake, what do you use to stick them on? Is it the same with figures? Thanks a bunch for any advice you might have!!

5 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 10 Feb 2012 , 4:10pm
post #2 of 6

It doesn't matter too much what kind of cake you use. If you have a cake recipe that you're used to using and that you like, use that. Don't use a really wet cake like a tres leches or jello poke cake.

I put the buttercream on pretty thick and then chill the cake until the buttercream (crusting recipe) is firm and crusted. Then put the fondant on fairly quickly before the cake comes to room temperature, because if it gets too warm the buttercream will squish out the bottom under the fondant.

To glue fondant details onto fondant, use a little bit of water brushed on the back. If it's a heavy piece or you don't think it will stay, mix some tylose powder and water into a thick glue and use that.

JoyceD Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoyceD Posted 10 Feb 2012 , 6:44pm
post #3 of 6