How To Prepare For Wedding Cake (First One)

Decorating By Cathrine123 Updated 20 Apr 2012 , 2:37pm by denetteb

Cathrine123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cathrine123 Posted 8 Feb 2012 , 9:20am
post #1 of 13

Hello fellow cake makers icon_biggrin.gif

In a few months time I will be making my friend/colleagues wedding cake, what they want is 100 mini cakes with 50 of them having a strawberry conserve in the middle and the other 50 with cherry conserve in and they would like them to look like this, but white fondant instead of pink:

[url]http://fc03.deviantart.net/fs70/i/2010/085/f/9/Sakura_Blossoms_by_Sliceofcake.jpg I hope this works!

I also need to do a diabetic cake for the MIL icon_surprised.gif and I've never done that type of cake before!

Anyway what I needed help/tips and advice with as this is my first proper cake for a special occasion, is on how to prepare myself, because I don't want to put myself in a panic and then freak out and then get the feeling that I never want to do this again. So I was thinking of possibly baking them and then freezing them however there is a problem if I wanted to do that as I only have a small freezer and it wouldn't be possible to have them all in there plus our frozen food too! I will prepare the fondant blossoms and butterflies 2 days before, if that is okay to do? and would I have to prepare the buttercream on the day of icing or is it okay to leave in a fridge over night before filling and crumbing? if you can see the photo the branches are on the cakes with brown fondant however the ones that I am making are going to be painted on since there is 100 to do, I am somewhat freaking out now because there is the question on how far in advance can I do this so that everything is done perfectly and not rushed and without the cakes tasking awful.

All feedback advice/tips will be greatly appreciated icon_biggrin.gif

12 replies
LisaPeps Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LisaPeps Posted 8 Feb 2012 , 10:59am