Let's Have Fun With This

Business By vgcea Updated 14 Feb 2012 , 3:11am by GarciaGM

vgcea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vgcea Posted 7 Feb 2012 , 9:09am
post #1 of 24

I've noticed some posters use exclusively this or that, for example meringue butter cream only or fondant only as a signature for their products. I even read yesterday that someone doesn't offer square cakes. So these got me thinking... Is your business known for anything in particular? Do you use one type of medium exclusively (or at least 90%). Any quirky things you do that others don't. I want this to be a fun thread where we can brag about what sets us apart (no bashing others' preferences please). I'd love to read what everyone has to post.

I'm pretty new with caking and all, and I've decided in building my business image I am going to use mainly fondant, and IMBC (more than SMBC--I can't seem to get it right-- and American BC). Since I'm in the hot south, I'll still be using crusting BCs in the summer. I am yet to find a business that offers IMBC/SMBC in my area so I figured it would set my business apart from the awesome competition out here-- we have some very talented cakers around here, I've got to give them their credit. Another thing I'm probably not going to offer: sheet cakes.

Ok, you're next!

23 replies
DavidIM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DavidIM Posted 7 Feb 2012 , 11:07am
post #2 of 24

We don't advertise the fact, but as a general rule we stick with fondant for cakes. That being said it isn't a hard and fast rule, we will bend depending on the situation.

The one thing we have as a part of our business model, is that we want our cakes to not only look amazing but taste amazing too. We have heard so many stories from other places like 'the cake looked awesome but was dry and bland'. We definitely have set a standard on the cake itself and this is reflecting in the feedback which we post on our site.

AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile