T Rex Head And Tail - Newbie Help!!!

Decorating By LukeyT Updated 12 Feb 2012 , 7:01pm by ittybittybakery

LukeyT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LukeyT Posted 5 Feb 2012 , 9:24am
post #1 of 5

Hi All, i am new to the world of cake making and need some advice!!

I am been asked to make a T Rex Dinosuar 3D cake of my god sons birthday party, after I made I lovely 2 tier birthday cake for my mother in law now I have for orders coming in for all members of the family which I love and am so honoured that they want me to make their cakes.

So I searched online and I have a step by step guild to how to make the cake but when it came to the head and tail they used rice krisps treats instead of cake!! I have seen a sudden burst of cake pops all over Facebook so when I search on google and saw how easy they are to make I got wondering could I make the head and tail in the same way has cake pops are made? The shape them the same way I would the rice krisps keep them in place with a skewer?

Any advice would be great...... icon_biggrin.gif

4 replies
GabRoc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GabRoc Posted 5 Feb 2012 , 9:43am
post #2 of 5

In my experience, rice crispy treats are MUCH easier to work with than cake pops. I suppose it's worth a try though... but if it were me, I'd have RCT's on hand as a backup.

LukeyT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LukeyT Posted 5 Feb 2012 , 11:43am
post #3 of 5

GabRoc thank u for ur advice and I make some RCT's just in case it all goes wrong.

How long will my sponge cake stay fresh before I have cover with fondant? I work a 9-5 job and the party is next Saturday at 10am. So I won't have much time so I want to make sure that I have everything ready!! icon_sad.gif

GabRoc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GabRoc Posted 5 Feb 2012 , 5:55pm
post #4 of 5

Well, you have several options.