How Do I Make Spikes Out Of Modelling Chocolate !!!

Decorating By fasmin Updated 8 Feb 2012 , 1:27am by fasmin

fasmin Posted 3 Feb 2012 , 12:22am
post #1 of 9

I'm new to modelling chocolate and would like to know how to make thin spike like pieces with modelling chocolate?The white chocolate ones like in the pic attached below.

8 replies
alissan Posted 3 Feb 2012 , 12:34am
post #2 of 9

The spikes probably aren't modeling chocolate. It's chocolate spread evenly on a cellaphane sheet (I think) and allowed to cool but not completely then cut into spikes. I've seen it done but haven't actually done it myself.

Norasmom Posted 3 Feb 2012 , 12:36am
post #3 of 9

Yup, that's melted white chocolate candy melts (like mercken's or Wilton) spread thin on something called a chocolate transfer sheet. Then, after it cools a bit, it is cut into the desired shape. Very easy!

shanter Posted 3 Feb 2012 , 4:05am
post #4 of 9

You can make your own "chocolate transfer sheet" for this design by drizzling dark chocolate on a food-safe, heat-resistant flexible surface (say, a somewhat rigid piece of plastic or parchment paper) and let it harden. Then pour some melted white chocolate/candy melts at the side and spread it over the dark chocolate. Let harden, cut the shapes you want, and then take the plastic/paper to the edge of your counter/table and pull down, separating the chocolate from the substrate and catching it with a wide spatula/bench scraper/ wide putty knife.

fasmin Posted 3 Feb 2012 , 6:07pm
post #5 of 9

Thanks a ton...i'm so happy to receive the replies icon_smile.gif)))

Oh k so its not modelling chocolate icon_razz.gif

so will the white/semi sweet cooking chocolate work for melting?
And where can we get food safe rigid plastic sheet?

Thanks a lot all !

shanter Posted 3 Feb 2012 , 8:30pm
post #6 of 9