Wedding Cake Pricing And General Idea Of How To Make It

Decorating By Krista512 Updated 1 Feb 2012 , 4:43am by Krista512

Krista512 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Krista512 Posted 1 Feb 2012 , 3:27am
post #1 of 10

so my good friend loves my cakes i make i just make cakes for friends for birthdays and small stuff. i have never done a wedding cake.

she gave me a picture of a 3 tier square cake with white and polka dots that she wants to put real pink daisys on.

im going to have to drive an hour and half to take the cake there and know i need to calculate the gas.

but im not sure how to price the cake. i dont want to mess her over paying a whole lot and im not a pro cake decorator. but i need a profit too.

what would you charge. its going to be 3 tier with each tier 3 stacked cakes. with 2 tiers of vanilla and one strawberry and regular icing between the layers. it will all be fondant
LL

9 replies
Krista512 Posted 1 Feb 2012 , 3:34am
post #2 of 10

i know how to make the cake and decorate just need to know how to stack it properly and what are the best dowels to use. i have never done tiered cakes.

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 1 Feb 2012 , 3:39am
post #3 of 10

What's the serving goal?
What size square tiers are you making?
We need more info.
http://www.wilton.com/cakes/tiered-cakes/stacked-tiered-cake-construction.cfm

Krista512 Posted 1 Feb 2012 , 3:44am
post #4 of 10

thats what im not sure about she likes the sizes in the picture but i dont know what sizes they are . she is having max 125 people she didnt say anything about serving size. what is standard. u usually make carved cakes and people get them for specific shapes not servings.

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 1 Feb 2012 , 3:54am
post #5 of 10

This is standard:
http://www.wilton.com/cakes/making-cakes/baking-wedding-cake-2-inch-pans.cfm
1"x2"x4" or 2"x2"x2" (8 cu. in.) servings.

carmijok Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile