Same Effect With Buttercream.....any Tips?

Decorating By bellacakecreations Updated 1 Feb 2012 , 2:29am by bellacakecreations

bellacakecreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bellacakecreations Posted 31 Jan 2012 , 2:24pm
post #1 of 13

Hey guys I was brought a pic of a cake and asked to make it in chocolate buttercream with dark chocolate buttercream accents. There was no info with this cake but it looks to me like it's chocolate fondant or modeling chocolate. I haven't had much luck making the diamond impression in chocolate buttercream (It never crusts enough) and they do want it to have a darker look to the lines. I'm guessing I could lightly mark them, wait a bit, score them more deeply, and if it does not look dark enough pipe in the lines? I'm just afraid I won't have perfectly straight lines or the indentations that look so nice. Any tips would be appreciated.

They also wanted chocolate covered strawberries scattered on the cake. I have never done those before and while I don't expect too many hiccups with them I would love some tips for those as well.
LL

12 replies
poohsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poohsmomma Posted 31 Jan 2012 , 2:57pm
post #2 of 13

I use the recipe on the back of the Hershey's cocoa can. I add at least one more cup of powdered sugar than called for, and it crusts beautifully. I use the VIVA method to smooth it, and I'm sure it would take an impression mat.

grama_j Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
grama_j Posted 31 Jan 2012 , 3:20pm
post #3 of 13

I use some brown icing coloring , and sometimes melted dark chocolate candy melts to my regular chocolate icing........ it tastes REALLY good... is darker than usual, and crusts very well...... you could use whipped chocolate ganache too.........

bellacakecreations Posted 31 Jan 2012 , 3:58pm
post #4 of 13

I thought about the whipped ganache as well. Does it harden or crust? Can you use an impression mat on it?

grama_j Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile