What Am I Getting Myself Into?

Decorating By ChloesMom1 Updated 26 Jan 2012 , 9:24pm by ChloesMom1

ChloesMom1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChloesMom1 Posted 26 Jan 2012 , 8:35am
post #1 of 5

Hello. I am new to CC. I am new to this whole world. My Story: I have a 1 year old daughter and I wanted to make her cake. We celebrate her half birthday because she is a Christmas baby. So I thought that it would be cheaper and fun to make her cakes myself. Well I got a bad cold and didn't feel up to it and bought a cake from Walmart.

About 2 weeks ago I made my first cake ever! I cut it into a C and covered it in fondant. It was ok. I could see where I needed to improve. My second time was a small rectangle cake covered in fondant with a bow.

I posted these pics on facebook and was getting crazy request even though I named my pics 1st cake and 2nd cake ever made. Which would tell me "inexperienced." I was overwhelmed and the main reason is that I can see my imperfections. But I thought I could practice and one day be good enough to open a bakery. So, I decided that I will take my projects to work and leave in my break room and get feedback. My co-worked saw the pics and started asking me if I use boxed cake. I said yes and she screamed at me "don't ever say you used boxed."

I was only interested in decorating cakes. I didn't think that boxed cakes were a bad thing. I don't have a palate for different flavors. I only eat white, yellow, lemon, chocolate, red velvet cake. So my question is, do I have to master baking as well as decorating? Where do I start?

I know this is long but I really need help. Thanks in advance.

4 replies
Sam_paggers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sam_paggers Posted 26 Jan 2012 , 2:08pm
post #2 of 5

Hey, welcome icon_smile.gif