Bakery Owners, I Would Love To Hear Your Thoughts...

Business By nikki1201 Updated 27 Jan 2012 , 12:03am by nikki1201

nikki1201 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nikki1201 Posted 25 Jan 2012 , 6:33pm
post #1 of 15

A little Background first:

I bake cookies at home. I do not sell them, they are gifts or donations to local bake sales or organizations. I do NOT sell, or try to make a profit from them. I decorate cookies simply for the love of it. icon_biggrin.gif

I used to work in the medical field for many years. I gave up that job to stay home with my son when he was born almost 2 years ago. After a few months, I took a part time job at a fantastic bakery near my house on thee weekends, just working behind the counter. I am in love with my job and consider myself very lucky to be able to work in an environment that means so much to me.

A few months ago, I made cookies for a co-workers nephew (as a gift icon_biggrin.gif ) and she showed my boss. I was extremely flattered at her reaction to them, and the co-worker showed her more of my cookies. (they are all on facebook) We talk 'baking' a lot now, and share recipes and ideas, and she asks my opinion about things and it's great!

We do not make many cookies. It is a family-owned Italian Bakery, so we of course have the whole case of 24 or so tray of different authentic Italian cookies, but our sugar cookies consist of the gigantic round cookie dunked in yellow icing with a smiley face kind of piped on. They are delicious, but not fancy. Recently, she has been having our bakers cut out different basic cookie shapes and pulling me out of the store to decorate them. I am very happy to do something I love "on the clock" for once. It's just that at first it was more like "could you show me how you would do that?" and now it's more like "here- i think you should have time to finish these before you have to go close & clean the store- in between the customers, of course.".