I Got An Interview!! Tips From Cup Cake Shop Owners?

Business By Bridgette1129 Updated 8 Feb 2012 , 4:15pm by Bridgette1129

Bridgette1129 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bridgette1129 Posted 25 Jan 2012 , 8:42am
post #1 of 18

Hi!
I am a student in baking school and need a job desperately. A local cupcake shop is hiring and called me for an interview.

This position is for a counter person and I was wondering if you have any tips for my interview?
I'm a HORRIBLE interviewer but I believe I can be more genuine and interview better because it is something I'm very passionate about.

Thanks so much!

17 replies
Bridgette1129 Posted 25 Jan 2012 , 3:49pm
post #2 of 18

I posted this really early this AM so I'm bumping it icon_smile.gif

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 25 Jan 2012 , 4:12pm
post #3 of 18

I've interviewed many potential new hires over the years at my day job (not related to baking or decorating). It's always a plus when interviewees come in with some knowledge of the company, what it does, and where they think they could add value, with concrete, quantifiable examples from their work/school/volunteer history to back it up.

Specific to this type of position you should make sure your portfolio is up to date with high quality pictures of your work. Even if the position doesn't involve baking or decorating it would be a plus for the employer to know you could handle that type of work.

I also recommend trying a few mock interviews, your school's career services department should be able to help with this, as well as helping to polish your resume.

KoryAK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KoryAK Posted 25 Jan 2012 , 6:59pm
post #4 of 18

YES please have pictures. Even if it's another art form, this would still tell me that you have an eye for it. Of course, also dress very clean and professionally and don't have any polish on your nails.

dollyandme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile