Starting Up A Cupcake/cake Business

Lounge By reinhardt72 Updated 1 Feb 2012 , 7:15am by scp1127

reinhardt72 Posted 22 Jan 2012 , 6:40pm
post #1 of 11

Hello not sure if I am posting this in the right place however any feedback will be greatly appreciated ahead of time. I wanted to get some feed back in starting my business not sure where to start and want to see if anyone on here has there own cake business and how you went about starting up. I have been baking for a few years now had to stop do to my issues with cancer (which i am cancer free now). I am reintroducing myself again and bake from home anything from birthday cakes to wedding cakes, holidays etc. and cookie bouquets. I have learned that life is to short and I really enjoy baking and seeing people smiles when they pick up or I delivery their cakes to them and I am seriously thinking of taking it a step up and opening a small business, please give me any feed back as to where or how to start this, Just to let you all know I have enrolled in my local community college for a business class I figured this will help me on how to run it. Thank you so very much in advance. icon_biggrin.gif

F. E. Reinhardt

10 replies
Marianna46 Posted 25 Jan 2012 , 7:01pm
post #2 of 11

Well, I think you're on the right track with your business course. I hear Texas recently passed a cottage food law (I'm orignally from Houston myself, so that made me very happy), so you can work from your house for the time being, but I'd look into any licensing requirements for a home business of this type. Also, as you say, learn as much as you can about decorating and start networking in your community so that when the time comes, you'll have a potential client base to draw from. I wish you the best in this. Since I'm in the process of doing the same thing, I REALLY want you to succeed!

reinhardt72 Posted 30 Jan 2012 , 6:25am
post #3 of 11