Tips On Better Writing?

Decorating By Sarah2418 Updated 22 Jan 2012 , 5:32pm by cakemaker2

Sarah2418 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sarah2418 Posted 21 Jan 2012 , 11:35pm
post #1 of 9

I need some tips to making my writing better. I've been decorating cakes for a hobby for a year now, and my writing is still not that great. If anyone has any good tips please share.

8 replies
Goreti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Goreti Posted 22 Jan 2012 , 12:13am
post #2 of 9

I'm just a hobby baker myself and I also have a little trouble with writing. What I have found is that if I hold the tip closer to the cake the writing is a lot neater. Some people also recommend that you write with a toothpick and then go over it in icing.

The_Sugar_Fairy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
The_Sugar_Fairy Posted 22 Jan 2012 , 12:24am
post #3 of 9

I think that making a line with a little ruler or making the letters first with a toothpick is a good idea so that the writing isn't crooked. Also, planning where the letters will be so that your words don't go right off the cake. When piping let the icing "fall" onto the cake. Keep in mind... when writing with a pen, your fingers do the work, when writing with icing, your wrist/arm does the work. And practice first on some wax or parchment paper. Hope that helps you out a bit. icon_smile.gif

AnitaK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnitaK Posted 22 Jan 2012 , 1:24am
post #4 of 9

Ditto what the Sugar Fairy said and be sure to add piping gel to your thin consistency icing. Practice, practice, practice.

melanie-1221 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melanie-1221 Posted 22 Jan 2012 , 1:27am
post #5 of 9

My instructor taught me using the toothpick. I pick the font I want, print what I want to write on the cake out on computer paper, then set it on my cake and trace the letters with a toothpick. Then I go over that with my thinned icing. Works great.

brenda549 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile