How Much Would You Charge..? Help A Newbie Out.

Business By weidertm24 Updated 9 Jan 2012 , 8:00am by CWR41

weidertm24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weidertm24 Posted 9 Jan 2012 , 3:36am
post #1 of 6

So I'm almost a year into baking and decorating and was asked to do a baby shower cake for a family friend. I'm just getting into this so I feel bad charging a lot but I never end up making money because I'll have to run out and buy something I forgot silly things like that.

Here's what they want:
2 Tier Cake Red Velvet with Cream Cheese Frosting
Top Tier "8 Round covered in cream cheese with fondant accents around the sides with a gum paste topper.
Bottom Tier "10 Round covered in cream cheese frosting with fondant accents around the sides.

**Similar to this - http://www.lovinovencakery.com/gallery/two-tiered-cake/
but all baby decorations bottles, rattles, diaper pins, ducks, teddy bears etc, along with a topper.

24 Cupcakes - 12 Chocolate, 12 Vanilla with buttercream frosting.
Topped with small fondant decorations.

***All decorations will be made with my cricut.

Here's the price I got for all the ingredients, fondant, cake boards, box etc. The stuff I can think of at least. And I don't need everything on the list but I'm going to need to buy it after I'm done because I'll need it to replenish what I have.

The total I got is $144.07

How much would you charge? Again, it's for a family friend so what kind of discount would you apply after your final price?

5 replies
pastryjen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pastryjen Posted 9 Jan 2012 , 3:56am
post #2 of 6

How much time is this cake going to take you? Don't forget to give yourself an hourly rate for everything from making your grocery list, driving to the store, shopping, prepping, baking, decorating to putting away the last piece of equipment after it's been washed and dried.

weidertm24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weidertm24 Posted 9 Jan 2012 , 4:34am
post #3 of 6
Quote: