Flavor Offerings...how Many Is Too Many?

Decorating By cangela4re Updated 9 Jan 2012 , 3:47am by cangela4re

cangela4re Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cangela4re Posted 8 Jan 2012 , 5:57am
post #1 of 11

Ok, Im a hobbyist transitioning to a cake business and Im working on a flavors list. Ive been baking since I was a kid and I have a ton of recipes that Ive worked with so for me, the possibilities are endless (imagine Bubba Gumps list of things you can do with shrimp). I do plan on putting together separate lists of cake flavors, filling flavors and frosting types/flavors so that people can choose their own combinations but my question really is about making a list of flavor combinations for the more culinary uninventive.....where does it end? I mean I could sit here and dream up stuff for hours (I think I have about 50 already). My question is how many is too many to list? My business head is telling me that too many choices will overwhelm the customer....would love your input!

(And for some reason I couldnt put this in the Cake Business section so I hope you guys still see my post)

10 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 8 Jan 2012 , 6:19am
post #2 of 11

You're right that too many choices can confuse a customer. I wouldn't list more than 10 or so flavors of cake/frosting/filling, and it helps to give people examples of popular combinations of flavors.

We list about 40 different popular combinations, but they are divided up into categories: vanilla, chocolate, tropical, citrus, spice, and almond.

cangela4re Posted 8 Jan 2012 , 6:30am
post #3 of 11