I Was Taken Advantage Of!!

Decorating By Debbye27 Updated 9 Jan 2012 , 7:20pm by CakeRN

Debbye27 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Debbye27 Posted 6 Jan 2012 , 5:55pm
post #1 of 18

I am very new at decorating cakes...and this is a sticky situation...feeling the need to rant!!

I have only been working at my job for a few months- and of course everyone knows I am getting into the cake business. One of my boss asks me to make her brother's birthday cake - in the shape of a snowmobile! I smiled and said no problem, but was cringing inside---I've never even rode a snowmobile-let alone know what they look like!

But I research it and am excited for a challenge- my first sculpted cake...then my other boss asks for an anniversary cake on the same day!! Hard to say no, right!?! A fall themed cake with sugar flowers--never made sugar flowers, either- very excited for the challenge again!

I put a lot of effort into planning, and told both I'd make the cakes for what it cost me- since I am so new and just want to make them for experience pictures...ect ect. (That was 2 months ago-now I charge full price b/c of the time and effort alone!)

I quoted the anniversary cake at $40, and the snowmobile at $70 (of course I spent more the 70 though)
The anniversary paid me 40, no problem- loved the cake, raved about it the next day.

The snowmobile boss had previously given me 40 and said -let me know if it will be more then that (ha ha)
When I delivered the cake, she loved it, I told her 70, she made a face...I said pay me when you can though.

Well, it's 2 months later- she never paid me, didn't rave about the cake, and she's been out for a month b/c her back hurts. She comes back to work on Monday---