Newbie Here! Getting Started!

Decorating By annakat444 Updated 8 Jan 2012 , 1:45am by Unlimited

annakat444 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
annakat444 Posted 3 Jan 2012 , 7:10pm
post #1 of 19

Hi all! I just joined and am so excited I found this website. I just started doing cakes for my daughter's first birthday last August, and after that I was hooked! Since then I've done two more birthday cakes, and am doing my 4th next weekend. I've researched a lot, watched tons of youtube videos and Cake Boss (haha!) and spent tons of time on Pinterest and this website looking up cake ideas. I haven't taken a class yet, but will be starting them at the end of this month at a local bakery.

My main question is about how to get experience doing elaborate cakes (I've seen soo many I'm dying to try to make!) I'm a stay at home mom and don't have consistent babysitting, so I can't get a part time job decorating (daycare isn't an option either). I'm a little sad I didn't discover baking when I was younger so I could have gone to school for it, now with a family I feel like my options are so limited. Any suggestions or advice? Thanks so much!

18 replies
Debbye27 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Debbye27 Posted 3 Jan 2012 , 8:02pm
post #2 of 19

Hey Anna... we started at about the same time and for the same reasons icon_smile.gif I did my son's 3rd birthday cake, and was hooked after that! I find every reason to make a cake--friend of a friend's daughters birthday....son's kindergarten orientation....just to bring in to work or send in with someone else to work..... every cake I try is way out of my league, so I research a lot on it....but I am going to go for the Wilton classes at Joanne's/Michaels- because I really would like to learn the basics!