Transition From Home Cakes To Professional Cakes

Decorating By dantherex Updated 4 Jan 2012 , 5:41am by rosech

dantherex Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dantherex Posted 3 Jan 2012 , 8:08am
post #1 of 11

I've been baking for a about 7 years, and I've learned a lot along the way. I've always wanted to do cakes but decorating wise I've never really been taught. (I can torte, ice, and decorate a generic shell bordered cake with roses.)
I want to start progressing to more professional wedding cakes, but 1. How do I get started into that type of decorating? 2. I love to practice my skills, but my own family is sick and tired of cake every week XD.

I would love to hear your stories and any advice for me thanks!

10 replies
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 3 Jan 2012 , 9:09am
post #2 of 11

You can use styrofoam cake dummies.

dantherex Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dantherex Posted 3 Jan 2012 , 9:16am
post #3 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWR41

You can use styrofoam cake dummies.

What kind of techniques should I be perfecting? Fondant covering? IDK im so lost >.<

jamawoops Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jamawoops Posted 3 Jan 2012 , 1:50pm
post #4 of 11

Take some cake decorating classes. I had been doing cakes for family and friends for about 7 years when I decided to take the classes offered at Michaels. They were pretty informative. You can also get instructional dvd's or watch tutorials on youtube.

You can do anything with a cake dummy, except for eat it of course lol! This way you can practice whatever you want without having to waste time making cakes that your family is tired of eating.

AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnieCahill Posted 3 Jan 2012 , 5:48pm
post #5 of 11

It is good to take basic cake decorating classes. I took one a long time ago when I was about 17. Back then there were only three Wilton Courses. I think I only did the first and second.