Another...i'm Stuck In A Cake Rut Rant!

Lounge By Wnt2BACakeStar Updated 3 Jan 2012 , 12:06pm by AnnieCahill

Wnt2BACakeStar Posted 2 Jan 2012 , 9:41pm
post #1 of 6

So I have been doing cakes for a few years now. I have sold lots and made plenty for my family as well. I decided I loved making cakes and that I wanted to go to school to become a pastry chef and some day open my own bakery. Boy was I wrong! lol I started my classes even took some entreprenaurship classes ontop of pastry and I hated them! I hated that I had to be creative on demand. I also got a job at a local bakery and I also hated that! I don't want to make it sound all bad there were some fun things about my job and my classes that I really enjoyed but in the end the bad outwieghed the good so I decided to switch majors. I also left my job at the bakery. The other thing that is making me crazy is price. It took some getting used to but I finally figured out and became comfortable with what I charge for my cakes. Just recently an excoworker of mine contacted me through FaceBook and asked me to do her sons cake. She was very excited and had even gone into great detail about what she wanted on the cake. However, after quoting her a price I have yet to hear from her and it has been about a week. I get that people who don't make cake don't realize how much work goes into it but still it is rediculous to think that you want to pay Walmart prices for a custom cake. I charge 1.50 per slice plus the cost of my time and work. Which since I bake at home is a lot less than what they charge at the custom cake galleries here. In any case I just feel like quitting the cake business altogether. I'm not sure maybe I am just stuck in a funk or something but I had to rant and so I decided to do it here because I know all of you will understand my caking woes. lol Today another aquaintance of mine just asked to order a cake from me any advice how I should handle it. I am seriously considering starting out by saying i