Mm Fondant

Baking By chelsea_cristine Updated 2 Jan 2012 , 1:13am by Vista

chelsea_cristine  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chelsea_cristine Posted 31 Dec 2011 , 2:50am
post #1 of 11

so I've been making some mm fondant and i don't know what i'm doing wrong because its just breaking apart! it doesn't feel too dry or anything but it just basically cracks! i think it might be the food coloring im using but i thought it was the right kind. it is the Wilton icing color. i am new to this and really want to learn so any help would be appreciated. even if its a new type of recipe. thank you

10 replies
 dec3  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dec3 Posted 31 Dec 2011 , 3:04am
post #2 of 11

MMF does crack very easily. I have found that keeping it dusted with powdered sugar will help. Cooking spray will help too, but don't use a lot because it will alter the taste of the MMF.
Hope this helps!

Debbye27  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Debbye27 Posted 31 Dec 2011 , 3:43am
post #3 of 11

How are you applying the fondant? I have a vinyl mat ($26 on amazon.com) I have had wonderful results with this mat, I grease it lightly with shortening, and knead up my fondant -once it's ready I roll out the fondant on this shortening mat and then flip the mat over on top of my cake, the shortening side up. I don't have problems with cracks - I found the DVD Flawless Fondant to be very helpful, and very detailed. I use homemade mmf too.

chelsea_cristine Posted 31 Dec 2011 , 5:00pm
post #4 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Debbye27

How are you applying the fondant? I have a vinyl mat ($26 on amazon.com) I have had wonderful results with this mat, I grease it lightly with shortening, and knead up my fondant -once it's ready I roll out the fondant on this shortening mat and then flip the mat over on top of my cake, the shortening side up. I don't have problems with cracks - I found the DVD Flawless Fondant to be very helpful, and very detailed. I use homemade mmf too.