Is This Illegal?

Business By Jessicakes831 Updated 17 Jan 2012 , 7:40pm by Bruisedapple

Jessicakes831 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jessicakes831 Posted 29 Dec 2011 , 7:36pm
post #1 of 21

I have what I call a small baking business but I'm not liscenced or certificated in anyway. I'm still a high school student so I don't really see that happening. I do like to sell cakes, cupcakes, cookies etc to my family and friends. I have a Facebook page that people can like that I often advertise on.
Am I doing anything illegal? I'm not making a huge amount of money but I don't want to get in trouble by anyone. I consider everything I sell completely edible and take the necessary measures to make sure everything is clean and sanitary.
Thanks for your time. icon_smile.gif

20 replies
CrescentMoon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CrescentMoon Posted 29 Dec 2011 , 8:02pm
post #2 of 21

In most states it is illegal to sell baked goods without a license. You need to check with your local health department to see what the rules/regulations are. I live in PA where I can have an in home bakery, under very strict guidelines. Because my family (and admitadly myslef) are quite attached to our animals, I cannot be licenesed, therefore I cannot sell cakes/cookie/pies/etc. I make them for friends and family as a way to practice my skill. If I am asked how much I charge, I say nothing. However, if my best friend happens to leave a $20 sitting on the counter as she walks out the door with her cake...I'm not going to say a word. icon_smile.gif

On the other hand, a co-worker of mine takes orders all the time for her cakes and advertises left and right. That is her business, but I am not going to put myself at risk of loosing my house over a $100 cake that someone decided they did not like and then sues me.

HTH...good luck to you!

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 29 Dec 2011 , 8:03pm
post #3 of 21