My First Cake

Decorating By northernskies Updated 20 Dec 2011 , 6:26am by Tails

northernskies Posted 19 Dec 2011 , 11:38pm
post #1 of 3

Hey everyone,

I have a plan to make a cake for my girlfriends birthday in a few weeks, I'm not really experienced in baking aha, best I've done is brownies and mince pies. Maybe I'm biting off more than I can chew but I want to make a cake in the shape of India as she loves the country and is planning a trip there in 2012. I guess I'm just looking for advice and some input. She likes chocolate cake most, so I guess if i bake just a standard chocolate 2 tier base and then cut our a deformed indian border after? Could anyone link me to a good recipe for the base and maybe icing? I was also thinking of making candles or mini flags on the path she is planning on taking..

Thank you, any dieas welcome

2 replies
kakeladi Posted 20 Dec 2011 , 2:27am
post #2 of 3

Here's a link to one of the BEST recipes around icon_smile.gif
I advise you to take the time to read the whole post as there are lots of helpful hints in the ? & answer/reply section.

You don't say how many people you want to serve w/this cake so I suggest making a 'sheet' cake - say 9x13 or whatever similar pan that you might have. Bake 2 of them; set one aside to be cut into shape. Split & fill the other, (optional), then ice it.
For the shape, trace an outline of the country on freezer paper & cut out; place on cake and cut around it. This will be easier if the cake is very cold but not frozen. Ice this cake and place it on top of the other one.
A very tasty, easy to make icing is:

2 of everything
2 cups butter*
2 cups Crisco*
2 pounds of powdered sugar
2 Tablespoons flavoring
2 pinches of salt

*Note: as posted the above icing does NOT crust so if you want one that crusts reduce either the butter OR the Crisco by 1 cup; OR reduce both by 1/2 cup.