Mmf And Cricut Cake Aint Workin!!! Help!!!

Decorating By wissa Updated 25 Jan 2013 , 10:19am by JackydeKlerk

wissa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wissa Posted 16 Dec 2011 , 2:33am
post #1 of 19

icon_cry.gif I just cant seem to get my new toy to work right. I have been making my mmf for a few months now and im new at making cakes, so i thought it would be fun to get a cricut cake and now i just cant seem to get the cricut to cut the fondant. Please if any one has advice on how to get it to work HELP ME!!!

18 replies
tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 16 Dec 2011 , 3:29am
post #2 of 19

MMF is too soft to cut with an electronic cutter. Gumpaste works the best, rolled very, very thin (with a pasta roller). Adding tylose to fondant works sometimes if you let it dry a little before cutting but it also has to be rolled very, very thin.

wissa Posted 19 Dec 2011 , 3:18am
post #3 of 19

icon_confused.gif my hubby said he read that tylose powder is not for eatingnor is gum paste . Is there any thing you can eat that i can stiffen my fondant with? I just want to be able to eat my creations.... hope i didnt waste $ icon_cry.gif

hvanaalst Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hvanaalst Posted 19 Dec 2011 , 5:44am
post #4 of 19

I find wilton fondant works ok and also wilton sugar sheets. Neither of which I think taste fantastic, but work ok. It has to be rolled so so thin to work. I never have luck with MMF. I am quite disappointed in it as it doesn't seem to give me consistant results so I rarely get it out.

KimmyD Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KimmyD Posted 19 Dec 2011 , 12:39pm
post #5 of 19

I just got my Cricut Cake a month or so ago and my daughter used it for the first time last week. We used MMF, pretty stiff, rolled VERY thin on the cutting mat. Worked like a charm.

tiggy2 Posted 19 Dec 2011 , 1:08pm
post #6 of 19

If you want something foolproof use the premium frosting sheets from icingimages. Perfect cuts every time!