Decorated Sugar Cookie Emergency :)

Baking By kendra_83 Updated 15 Dec 2011 , 10:27pm by pmarks0

kendra_83 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kendra_83 Posted 12 Dec 2011 , 3:52pm
post #1 of 6

I need help finding the best recipe for soft, fluffy sugar cookies that can still maintain their cut shape after baking without spreading too much so they can be decorated with buttercream. I'm a cake designer but I've been approached by several people about making cookies since our local small-town bakery just closed. I've tried several recipes but I'm not really happy with any of them. My order goes out this week and I'd like to avoid further recipe testing icon_smile.gif Thanks in advance!

5 replies
MrsNisch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsNisch Posted 12 Dec 2011 , 4:17pm
post #2 of 6

this is the recipe I use - they turn out perfect every time and almost always keep their shape

Mix together until fluffy:
1 lb butter softened
3 cups sugar

Add one at a time:
4 eggs

Add:
1 tablespoon vanilla (I use vanilla bean paste) http://www.amazon.com/dp/B001EQ5FO0/?tag=cakecentral-20

Mix in 1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
7 cups of flour

Once thoroughly mixed - cover and put in fridge for several hours. I usually let it sit overnight.

Roll out dough - cut shapes - place on parchment covered baking sheets. Let dough sit on baking sheet in the fridge for 10 min prior to baking (this is a critical step, don't skip it or they cookies won't retain their shape)

Bake at 400° for 8-12 min depending on size of cookie.

Enjoy!! icon_biggrin.gif

luvmysmoother Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luvmysmoother Posted 14 Dec 2011 , 3:43pm
post #3 of 6

I normally decrease the milk to 1/2 cup or so in this recipe and add lemon zest or other flavoring rather than nutmeg but these plump up nicely and don't spread much (with the reduced milk)icon_smile.gif

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/great-grandads-sugar-cookies/detail.aspx