Trying To Figure The Cost...

Decorating By EvArt Updated 12 Dec 2011 , 10:21pm by Apti

EvArt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
EvArt Posted 11 Dec 2011 , 8:06pm
post #1 of 6

Hello. I'm still trying to iron out all the details of pricing my cakes and still need a little help.
I have 3 wedding cakes already scheduled for this next year and next to design, my brides want price quotes. I am a home self taught cake designer, so I don't have all the resources available to me all the time. Like the wedding cake I have for February will probably be square and I have none of the square pans, so I will have to go out and purchase them. (I need them anyways, but it's a big expense). This cake will have a damask design on it, so that entails purchasing the stencils or the fondant/gumpaste cutters.
I have it figured that a 2 -layer 8" cake, baked and frosted costs me approx. $10 to make. That's one mix.
So a 5 - tier square or a 4 - tier round wedding cake (going by the amount of cake mixes used) would cost me about $120 just to bake, frost and stack. Then I need to account for the damask design on the layers which I'm thinking would better for me to hand pipe with buttercream.
I'm figuring that a 5 -tier square cake (14", 12", 10", 8" and 6" keeper x 4"), covered in fondant, wrapped with satin ribbon and hand piped damask pattern with buttercream, and adding a satin ribbon bow with brooch - I would charge $650
A 4 - tier round decorated the same would be $550.

Does this sound reasonable??
I'm scared to death to over charge, but I also know that I need to take care of me with the amount of work I put into these cakes.
1 more Q, would you ask for a deposit?? (remembering that I have to go out and purchase everything to make the cake since I don't have it all on hand)

Thanks for input. I really appreciate having people to bounce this stuff off of.

5 replies
Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 11 Dec 2011 , 8:52pm
post #2 of 6