Where To Find Ingredients In The Us Like Glycerin, Etc.

Baking By cangela4re Updated 3 Jan 2012 , 12:11pm by AnnieCahill

cangela4re Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cangela4re Posted 11 Dec 2011 , 7:24pm
post #1 of 5

Ok Im a newbie so hopefully this post wont be redundant and will help others needing to find some of the ingredients needed for fondant recipes etc.

Glycerin - I found pure glycerin (USP grade) in 2 places....Wal-Mart (in the pharmacy department)
and CVS in the skin care department. I think it was like $6 for a 6oz bottle @ each. I think one of the reasons people have such a hard time finding it is because they dont stock it near the cake or cake decorating supplies. Dont expect any of the employees to know where it is, you just have to look.

Meringe Powder - You can buy meringue powder in the cake decorating section of the craft department at Wal Mart where the fondant etc is located (not in the cake aisle), I have also seen a product called "Just Whites" (same thing - powdered egg whites) at my local Publix and Ive heard Kroger carries them too. If you live near a Publix that doesnt carry it, just ask a manager to order it for you. Ive done this with several items over the years and Ive never had a problem. Also dont forget that Publix honors competitors coupons and even though Ive never seen a "just whites" coupon, they will honor a $5 off of $25 coupon from say Winn Dixie or another store so it might be good to stock up and take advantage of this to offset the cost of more expensive ingredients.

Dream Whip - WalMart located next to the Jello. Dont forget to get your Knox unflavored gelatin while youre there lol.

Hope this saves someone running all over town looking for ingredients!

4 replies
CakesbyCarla Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakesbyCarla Posted 12 Dec 2011 , 3:35am
post #2 of 5

Glycerin is found at Michaels too, in the Wilton section - along with meringue powder.

esangston Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile