Staircases And Fountains....are Those Still Around?

Decorating By Kellbella Updated 9 Dec 2011 , 9:05am by fearlessbaker

Kellbella Posted 7 Dec 2011 , 2:43am
post #1 of 9

Really, do people still want cakes with the plastic staircases, plastic people and fountain on the bottom? I had a very young girl, (20 yrs old) send me a pic of a cake like that! I thought maybe her mom picked it out...I really thought those are not to popular nowadays! I have no idea where to get these, can I rent everything because I really don't want to buy it.

8 replies
pattycakesnj Posted 7 Dec 2011 , 3:18am
post #2 of 9

yes they are still around and I had a young bride order one over the summer. It was a PIA cake to do and you can get the pieces on Wilton's website. I bought them and passed the cost onto my customer.

Kellbella Posted 7 Dec 2011 , 2:05pm
post #3 of 9

PIA...oh no icon_cry.gif not what I wanted to hear! I've never done one before .....great. Any tips you can pass on? icon_wink.gif

CWR41 Posted 7 Dec 2011 , 2:46pm
post #4 of 9

Stairways For Tiered Cakes:
http://www.wilton.com/cakes/tiered-cakes/stairways.cfm

Fountain Tiered Cake:
http://www.wilton.com/cakes/tiered-cakes/fountain-tiered-cake.cfm
(in the photos, the pillars are assembled upside down... don't do that!)

JadedJenn Posted 8 Dec 2011 , 3:55am
post #5 of 9

When I got married 6 years ago, we had a fountain style wedding cake. For some reason I was really into the idea of having that fountain! It was a beautiful cake but I think the style was kind of dated, even for 6 years ago.

Kellbella Posted 8 Dec 2011 , 6:34pm
post #6 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by JadedJenn

When I got married 6 years ago, we had a fountain style wedding cake. For some reason I was really into the idea of having that fountain! It was a beautiful cake but I think the style was kind of dated, even for 6 years ago.

That's what I feel too..it's dated, but whatever she wants, I guess that's what I'll do.