Glitter Cake!!! (As In Glitter In The Cake...mad?)

Decorating By SorchaScrumptious Updated 13 Dec 2011 , 6:47pm by lilbitacake

SorchaScrumptious Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SorchaScrumptious Posted 6 Dec 2011 , 1:59pm
post #1 of 8

Hi Everyone,
Forgive me if this sounds silly, I'm an amateur! I'm sending one of my favourite cake mixes to my friend for Christmas and one of the components is my vanilla sugar...which got me thinking about adding colours to the sugar...which got me thinking about adding glittery colours, like shimmer powder, edible glitter or sparkles...does this work at all??
Will it just sink to the bottom of the cake?
Will it just melt away?
Does adding glitter to a cake mix actually make a glittery cake? icon_biggrin.gif
SS xx

7 replies
LouLou79 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LouLou79 Posted 6 Dec 2011 , 3:46pm
post #2 of 8

Hi, i cant help you much but i do know that the edible glitter although called edible and is non-toxic will not harm you if consumed but the actual website (cake-stuff.com) does say that if using glitter on a cake you should be able to remove the glittered item before consumption as it should only be consumed in very small amounts.
hope this helps.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 6 Dec 2011 , 5:36pm
post #3 of 8

1) it will not show when baked in a cake.
2) as other poster said, disco dust is really not edible - especially in the amounts needed to be baked in a cake.
3) Disco dust is finely ground plastic icon_sad.gif
4) the amount one would need to add to change a color in a cake would make it taste really bad icon_sad.gif

DeniseNH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeniseNH Posted 6 Dec 2011 , 10:12pm
post #4 of 8

The batter will surround each glitter flake and create a fog over it - thereby removing any possibility of a "shine".

BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 6 Dec 2011 , 10:22pm
post #5 of 8

No, no real way to get sparkly baked cake.