Does Anyone Really Eat Fondant?

Decorating By Wildgirl Updated 7 Dec 2011 , 4:44am by milkmaid42

Wildgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Wildgirl Posted 6 Dec 2011 , 4:10am
post #1 of 16

I'm agonizing over whether or not I really should put time into learning fondant. I'm just a hobbyist anyway and what I want is what people will really eat and like - not just what looks flawless. Do people actually like to eat fondant or is it mainly used for looks?

Thanks - your comments will really help me make a decision!

15 replies
cakesrock Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesrock Posted 6 Dec 2011 , 4:40am
post #2 of 16

Yes! I actually like fondant.And I really only make fondant cakes now. It will take your decorating to a level way beyond where you could go with BC. I think there is no question that it's worth it. I'm a hobbyist too and I make my own MMF (Rhonda's ultimate) and there are other tasty brands such as Satin Ice you can buy. The sweetness can be toned down with lemon (in Rhonda's) and with ganache underneath etc.. Some people peel it off, but others eat it (or at least some of it). But I would encourage you to give it a go - you won't be sorry!

FromScratchSF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratchSF Posted 6 Dec 2011 , 5:15am
post #3 of 16

Why are you agonizing? That's silly! Learning fondant is simply another facet of this art.

There was just another thread about this a few days ago. In my opinion, there is horrible tasting fondant (Wilton), bad tasting fondant (Satin Ice), decent tasting fondant (Fonderific), good tasting fondant (Masa Ticino), and fantastic tasting fondant (homemade, either MFF or MMF).

So yes, if you use good stuff, people eat it and love it (ok, love is probably a strong word, but they like it a lot). If you use the less expensive stuff or the cheapest stuff you can find, then not so much.

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 6 Dec 2011 , 9:26am
post #4 of 16

I agree with FromScratch.