Should Alarm Bells Be Ringing?

Business By lissyUK Updated 5 Dec 2011 , 12:10pm by lissyUK

lissyUK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lissyUK Posted 4 Dec 2011 , 2:53pm
post #1 of 7

I'm relatively new to the business side of things, having taken a long time to get properly set up and legal etc (and had a baby!).

I've had an enquiry from a woman who wanted 100 cupcakes. I offered to do them for £2 (Would usually charge £2.50 for what she wanted) as it was a decent size order. However, she said it was too expensive and she'd had a cheaper quote. I said very nicely - oh great, I'm afraid I can't discount more than that, I use premium ingredients and don't get any economies of scale because everything is done by hand and wished her luck with her event.

Well she obviously didn't have another cheaper quote because she started selling the party to me - how many important people would be there and what a good opportunity it would be for a start up like me. And actually I should think about my pricing because £2 was a lot as THEY'RE ONLY CUPCAKES!

She's sending me pictures of what she wants, but I just get the impression she'll be unhappy with whatever I do because I won't budge any further on the price.

As a new business, it's tempting to take every order going, but I'm nervous about this customer - she's known to an aquaintance and was pretty mean when she didn't get her own way at a trade fair.

Would welcome advice. Am I asking for trouble or just looking for problems where there aren't any?

6 replies
stsapph Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stsapph Posted 4 Dec 2011 , 3:40pm
post #2 of 7