Pudding As Filling?

Decorating By Mae_mom Updated 9 Dec 2011 , 12:25am by Cakery2012

Mae_mom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mae_mom Posted 1 Dec 2011 , 11:41pm
post #1 of 20

Maybe this is a stupid question but I've never tried it before...

would it be dumb of me to use pudding as a filling between cake layers? I'm not sure if it would end up soaking into the cake itself or cause another problem but wanted to check here first. I'm thinking of doing a chocolate cake with banana pudding filling (with some pineapple and strawberry added for good measure icon_smile.gif ).

Be honest! You won't hurt my feelings if you say "Yes, that would be incredibly stupid". icon_smile.gif

19 replies
msulli10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msulli10 Posted 2 Dec 2011 , 2:06am
post #2 of 20

I use pudding all the time. Just make sure you make a damn around the edges of your first cake layer with thick buttercream. Then put in your pudding and place the top cake layer on that. This way no filling will squish out.

Mae_mom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mae_mom Posted 4 Dec 2011 , 12:04pm
post #3 of 20

Awesome! I never would have thought of that!!! Thank you so much for your help!!!!

FlourPots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlourPots Posted 6 Dec 2011 , 3:05am
post #4 of 20

Also, replace the milk with heavy cream and your filling will be nice and thick.

I once did a taste test with 7 different filling recipes...2 of the recipes were just pudding (vanilla & white choc.) made with cream...

Right away, those two were at the top of my list...they tasted the best, were super easy to make, and less expensive than the more involved recipes.

This was #3: http://cakecentral.com/recipe/easy-bavarian-cream

....after allowing time for the flavors to blend however, the bavarian cream jumped to #1, and is still my favorite today.
It's similar to plain pudding, but better...