Why Is My White Cake Not White?

Baking By staceyboots Updated 1 Dec 2011 , 11:46am by AnnieCahill

staceyboots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
staceyboots Posted 1 Dec 2011 , 2:39am
post #1 of 4

Hi CC'ers

So I decided to go in search of the ever-elusive perfect white scratch cake recipe and ran my first experiment today. However, although I am happy with the results I am wondering why (although all of my ingredients were white in colour) my cake doesn't look snow white.

i am not too technical / scientific when it comes to baking but I am missing something here? Here is the recipe that I used:

8 ounces shortening
2 cups granulated sugar
8 egg whites
2 tsps clear butter flavouring
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups sour cream
4 tbsps mayonnaise

I added the mayonnaise at the last minute because, based on what I read, some people mentioned that their shortening-based cakes lacked moisture.

I am happy with the way the cake turned out and tasted just not happy with the colour, I wanted a stark white cake. Do you think that simply adding some Americolor Brite White would help with the colour issue?

Stacey

3 replies
AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnieCahill Posted 1 Dec 2011 , 2:46am
post #2 of 4

How white does this cake need to be? icon_eek.gif

Your mayo, AP flour, and possibly the sour cream are not pure white. I have Pillsbury AP flour in the pantry which is off-white. The mayo we use is also very off white, as it's made with eggs (most mayo is egg-based).

Is there no vanilla in this recipe?

You could try adding the whitener or use a pin prick of violet gel color to see if that will cancel out the yellow.

staceyboots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
staceyboots Posted 1 Dec 2011 , 3:08am
post #3 of 4

Hi

I was hoping for a really white cake but maybe that is not possible with the ingredients that I used. I didn't use any vanilla just the clear butter flavouring.