Friends Taking Advantage...

Decorating By cfpeoples Updated 1 Dec 2011 , 3:54pm by inspiredbymom

cfpeoples Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cfpeoples Posted 29 Nov 2011 , 6:34pm
post #1 of 31

Years back when i first started selling my cakes, I would make cakes for friends at basically cost. Now, I am so busy anyway, and more and more friends, (usually from church or parents of other school children) want cakes for honestly next to nothing. It takes me just as long to do their cakes as a normal client, so if i am spending 8 hours or more on a cake, I don't like it that I am making $10. I have told these people how long it takes, and they want to basically pay cost plus $10 or something ridiculous like that. I want to tell them that if they want me to continue making their cakes, they have to pay full price, or maybe a small discount like 10%. I am not very good at confrontation, and i would honestly rather lose them than continue to work for nothing, and having to turn down cakes for paying customers if i have alreay booked a friend. Most of these people I really DO like as people, and do not want to be mean to them but at the same time, I don't feel i am being fair to myself. I have 4 people like that booked for december. Advice on how to tell them nicely while still getting my point across? Thanks!

30 replies
mariacakestoo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mariacakestoo Posted 29 Nov 2011 , 6:36pm
post #2 of 31

Here's the deal, and I'm not even going to read what you wrote. Friends don't take advantage. Period.

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 29 Nov 2011 , 6:39pm
post #3 of 31

To actually address your question, you may want to have someone else who is better at confrontation handle your sales. If people ask to place an order you can tell them to contact your business manager to work out the details, and they can be the "bad guy" who quotes a price and sticks to it.

kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile