Help With Fondant, Online Uk Store & Cake Board Pls?

Decorating By Preezie Updated 3 Dec 2011 , 2:52am by Preezie

Preezie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Preezie Posted 29 Nov 2011 , 3:18am
post #1 of 6

Hello there! I have been doing cake decorating for 2-3 years now, but it's just a hobby & bcoz of my hectic lifestyle, I seldom find the time for it (hence the inexperience) OK, so my sister is having a baby shower soon & I'll be making the cake. Gonna be a 2 tier cake (10 inch & 8 inch round)with topper, surrounded by regular sized cupcakes with matching toppers....I live in Hong Kong & my sister is in the UK! Trouble is I only get there late on Saturday nite & her shower is at 1PM the next day. So I've decided that I'll make the toppers here & carry them with me to UK to save me time, but buy the fondant I plan to cover cake with there coz it's cheaper & will save me the hassle of carting all that extra weight over! Here are my questions:

1. What do I need to mix with fondant so that it is firm enough & I can get to UK without it all breaking apart/melting? (How do I mix this?)....I usually work with fondant only coz my cakes are made the same day as event. Clearly fondant by itself will not work in this case!

2. Has anyone purchased from the online UK store Sugarshack b4? Planning to purchase the Regalice yellow fondant there....Any comments on if this is a reliable online store & if the Regalice brand of fondant works well to cover cakes?

3. Finally, I would like to know what size cake board u would recommend if I will be surrounding my 10 inch cake by cupcakes. Do u think 13 inch will work or should I go bigger?

Thanks in advance guys!

5 replies
Preezie Posted 29 Nov 2011 , 11:18am
post #2 of 6

Sorry guys...I know that this is looong post, but pls help if u can...esp regarding what to do abt my fondant figures? Thanxicon_biggrin.gif

Claire138 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Claire138 Posted 29 Nov 2011 , 12:10pm
post #3 of 6