So Disappointed With My Latest Cake But Learned A Lot :(

Decorating By tsal Updated 28 Nov 2011 , 3:21am by tsal

tsal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tsal Posted 27 Nov 2011 , 9:35pm
post #1 of 7

Hi,

I'm a hobbyist. I make cakes for family and *really* close friends. The last cake I made (latest pic in profile) was a learning experience, to say the least.

I am an SMBC girl. I've also worked on managing my caking workload so that each cake doesn't feel like a monumental task. I bake in advance and freeze etc. I've been able to figure out how to get SMBC really smooth in a short period of time. I feel that my cakes have evolved to a level that I'm really proud of.

Enter the latest cake request: it had to be a three tier, dairy free cake (for religious reasons). I agreed to do it for my niece even though I knew that I'd be experimenting with dairy free frostings.

To make a long story short, due to an extremely hectic week, I did not start the cake until Wednesday (it was due Saturday) - I baked the layers (and discovered that my oven is barely functioning - it will be replaced next week). Because I had to grease the pan with Crisco, my cakes had a darker crust that I wasn't use to. I rebaked the cakes using Pam but it was not any better (lots of wasted hours there). Thursday, I tried multiple dairy free icing recipes without success, so I ended up calling a kosher caker and asked if they would sell me just their icing. They did - 12 lbs for $72. However, it is a crusting buttercream that has to be refrigerated (that disappointed me because I was afraid that refrigeration would stale my cake - I can't figure out what's in it that needs to be refrigerated and they were not sharing).