Ny Sports Fan 30Th Birthday Cake

Decorating By SweetsbySouthernBelle Updated 11 Dec 2011 , 9:15pm by cangela4re

SweetsbySouthernBelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetsbySouthernBelle Posted 26 Nov 2011 , 5:59pm
post #1 of 2

Hi all,

My lovely fiance's birthday is mid-December, and since it's such a big birthday (he'll be 30), I've reached out to all of his family and all of the friends that I know to give him a big birthday bash.

Since he's such a MAJOR sports fan, I've made it a sports-themed party where everyone is supposed to come wearing a jersey for their favorite team. (Plus, my affectionate nickname for him is Jersey because he's from NJ icon_biggrin.gif so there is that little bit extra cool tie-in) Anyway, being from NJ, he is a super loyal NY sports fan. He is very much devoted to the Yankees and the Giants. I want to make him a special cake, but I'm not experienced with fondant more than just putting fondant into molds to make mini fondant roses for cupcakes a few weeks ago.

The cake itself will be a banana cake with mini chocolate chips (his favorite), possibly two tiers, with SMBC frosting and probably a banana cream mousse filling. So, what do you guys suggest as far as decorations go? Again, please keep in mind that I don't have much experience with fondant or gumpaste. I am not opposed to trying new techniques, but as I am a full-time teacher, the time I'll have to devote to the cake and decorations won't be too terribly much. I have a half-day of school on that Friday, and his party is the next night at 7:00 pm.

Thoughts?

Thanks, guys, so much. I appreciate any and all ideas.

SweetsbySouthernBelle

1 reply
cangela4re Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cangela4re Posted 11 Dec 2011 , 9:15pm
post #2 of 2