Transporting Wedding Cake!

Decorating By val0210 Updated 14 Nov 2011 , 2:49pm by aligotmatt

val0210 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
val0210 Posted 13 Nov 2011 , 2:34pm
post #1 of 11

Hi
I'm making a 4 tier wedding cake and just wondered if anyone can tell me if I'm best to transport it stacked or assemble it at the venue?
Thanks

10 replies
SnLSweetEscapes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SnLSweetEscapes Posted 13 Nov 2011 , 2:57pm
post #2 of 11

I am not an expert at all on this as I am just starting with cakes. But I bring mine unstacked. I am too afraid of the what ifs and would rather take the extra time when I get there. Plus I worry about how heavy it would be to move a stacked cake.

mplaidgirl2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mplaidgirl2 Posted 13 Nov 2011 , 3:06pm
post #3 of 11

I travel with all my cakes stacked. If your suporrt system is good enough there shouldn't be a problem.

designdiva22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
designdiva22 Posted 13 Nov 2011 , 3:32pm
post #4 of 11

So if you travel with the 4 tiers unstacked, do you put a dowel through the entire cake after assembling at the venue?

This is without SPS... just the cakes on cake boards.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 13 Nov 2011 , 4:38pm
post #5 of 11

Let's get you started out right in the world of stacked cakes.

Seriously, buy SPS.

Nellical Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nellical Posted 13 Nov 2011 , 4:54pm
post #6 of 11

We finish all of our cakes in the bakery, chill them thoroughly and take them already stacked. We delivered a 5, yes, 5 tiered cake yesterday. It was a half hour drive, and the bottom tier was a 14" cheesecake. We build our cake drums out of plywood. Two layers, the bottom layer the same diameter as the bottom of the cake, the top layer at least 5 inches wider than the bottom of the cake.